1. Sign-up to become a member, and most of the ads you see will disappear. It only takes 30 seconds to sign up, so join the discussion today!
    Dismiss Notice

Component cables

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Jay_Via, Oct 30, 2001.

1. Jay_Via

Jay_Via Stunt Coordinator

hey all,
    first post here....looks like a great site though....
    im an amateur home theater"ist"....been into it for 2-3 years now and have a decent setup....
    i was wondering what the general consensus on component cables for dvd-to-tv were. i was looking at some acoustic research cables, $45 for 6 foot cables. Someone was telling me recenty that you would do just as well running 3 normal composite cables as our red, green and blue. i doubted this statement, and ended up coming across this site, so i thought i would ask.
    thanks for any help
    jv
    ------------------
    "What good is it....for a man to gain the world....yet lose his own soul, in the process....?"
    -- X

2. Bob McElfresh

Bob McElfresh Producer

Hi Jay. Welcome to HTF! [​IMG]
    I'm afraid your friend was correct. A set of component video cables is simply 3 video cables.
    The rule for video cables is that they have to be made with 75 ohm coax.
    Since CATV coax is also 75 ohms, some people have made their own.
    The trick is that all 3 cables have to be the exact same length and made with identical RCA connectors or visible problems will appear.
    The AR brand is well respected as a budget cable set. The next usual question is "what is a step up?"
    My rule-of-thumb is to suggest AR or Radio Shack brand cables for:
    - Tube-type TV
    - Running less than 6 feet
    - Running interlace/normal video
    The cables can become a limiting factor as your display size increases or the run-length gets larger, or you start shoving HD/Progressive signals down the cable.