What's new

component cable - increased length bad? (1 Viewer)

I'm pretty new to the world of HD televisions so please be gentle with me. I have a pioneer elite pro 710hd television and I have my DVD player hooked up to it with a 10 foot component cable ( v2 Tributaries maximum performance ofc video cable - model DCVC ). I'm moving my equipment rack further away from my TV and I need to get a longer component cable. The new length I need is now 20 feet. I intend to trade in my cable and buy the exact same brand and model of cable. I have heard that longer runs of cable will give you poorer performance. Will I need to worry about getting a poorer picture with a 20 foot cable instead of a 10 foot one? The cable is a fairly expensive one. The 10 foot one was $220 ( Canadian ) and the 20 foot one is $310 ( Canadian ).

Any information is greatly appreciated.

Bob McElfresh

Senior HTF Member
Dont worry about it.

When the cable manufacturers make a video coax cable, they roll out 100 feet, shove higher and higher frequencies in one end and brag about the results at the other.

While you may be sold on your current brand, the best bang-for-the-buck cables are the custom cable web sites. They buy spools of HD rated coax and build custom cables like the production studios use. (Trust me - the broadcast industry does NOT pay $220 for a 10 ft cable).

Since you have a HDTV, make sure the cables you buy have some wording like "HDTV rated" or "100 Mhz bandwidth". Ordinary component cables only have to handle a maximum frequency of 4 Mhz.

Chu Gai

Senior HTF Member
To begin with, consider reading the following link.