What's new

Complete Novice - Advice for HT in Basemnt (1 Viewer)

Timmy_N

Auditioning
Hi. In process of finishing off my basement and thought that a home theater would be a good addition as well. Any advice? I thought that while the walls were open that I'd have the electrician do the wiring for the speakers as well but this is necessary? I also saw some Bose 800 HT pkg w/DVD at Sam's Club for $1300. Is this a good buy? Any other recommendations in the $1000 price range? And what's the difference between a HT system pkg and just buying separate speaker components?
Any advice/recommendations/suggestions would be appreciated. Contractor is starting in a week so I need to make some decisions quickly....thanks again.
Timmy_N

Bill Catherall

Screenwriter
For the most part, a Home Theater In A Box (HTIB) usually has inferior components. Depending on the manufacturer, you can get some pretty lousy speakers and an underpowered receiver. I would really stay away from Bose. They aren't as good as they are hyped to be and are priced too high for what they are worth. I've heard that Pioneer and others make better HTIBs.
Personally I'd rather put together a system. You can usually buy separate speakers, receiver, DVD player at equal quality or better for the same price, or slightly more. It's a good place to start though, but you'll find yourself wanting to upgrade soon. Also, smaller speakers and a low powered receiver may not sound good if your room is large. How big is it?
If you decide to prewire the walls for sound, be sure to take into consideration future upgrades. You may want more than 5 speakers and a subwoofer in the future. Do you know exactly where your speakers are going to go? If not, pull wire to several locations and leave a lot of wire hanging out of the walls. This will give you room to change things later.