What's new

Complete beginner. Looking to make an informed choice. (1 Viewer)

dave2012

Auditioning
Real Name
dave C
Good morning folks.
First post here. Although I've browsed through threads to get an idea of questions to ask.
I'm looking for AV equipment to do the following:
Play Blue Ray movies, and ideally still play my HD movies, and also my older non-high def discs.
Have the kids' BOX 360 to output through the surround sound.
I also want to have my regular cable TV going through it (sports, movies etc).
I also want to be able to connect my laptop, to play downloaded video content.
I also want to plug in via USB to play music off portable devices - Zune etc
All I have right now is a Dynex TV, with HDMI, that we play the XBOX through. Using the TV speakers.
The room is approximately 14' x 14'.
Budget: it's hard to say until I know roughly where the performance/$ points are - but say $200 - $300. We're not massive audiophiles and we have other things that need money right now.
I'm afraid I don't even know what the best way to interconnect all these things is.
Cheers,
Dave

gartronics

Stunt Coordinator
Real Name
Garry