Comparison of Polk's RTi10 and RTi8 Speakers

Discussion in 'Speakers' started by Joel McIntosh, Feb 1, 2004.

1. Joel McIntosh

I wanted to take a few moments to offer my impressions the new Polk RTi10s. I'll also discuss how these speakers compare to the RTi8s. I just used my Circuit City upgrade to move from the RTi8s to the RTi10s. I have been using RTi8s since October 2003, and I want to say up front that I think the RTi8 is a fine speaker that, when combined with a good subwoofer, can provide a solid HT experience. Having said that, the RTi10s offer a superior listening experience to the RTi8s.

The two speakers have several physical differences. The 8s have two mid-range 6 1/2" drivers whereas the 10s have only one. The 10s, however, have two 7" woofers that the 8s lack altogether. Also, the 10s have a more pronounced bass venting system (Polk calls it Power Port Plus). The tweeters on the 10s and 8s are the same.