What's new

Compare these 4 receivers... (1 Viewer)

Chad Sunderland

Stunt Coordinator
Hi, I'm looking into getting a new reciever to replace my Yamaha HTR-5460. A few of the reasons that I'm looking to upgrade is, I don't have enough digital audio inputs, and I'd like to have Dolby Pro Logic II and DTS Neo:6 for watching VHS and satellite.

The 4 recievers I am looking at are the Denon AVR-2802, the Yamaha HTR-5490, the Onkyo TX-SR700, and the Harmon Kardon AVR 320.

I am also going to be upgrading my speakers to Axiom M22ti's for the front, a VP150 for the center, and QS-4's for the rear. Any ideas on which receiver would match these speakers best.

I'd appreciate any help you could give me, I realize these are all pretty nice recievers, but I'm having a lot of trouble making a choice. I'm still pretty new to this, so I need the help! Thanks

Chad

Paul Clarke

Supporting Actor
Well it appears you already like Yammy...and the 5490 has more digital inputs than the space shuttle. I own H/K but the 5490 was in the running for me before I purchased. Actually the 5490 is getting a little long in the tooth so getting one on a closeout should be a great buy.

When you get like you are and need to make a decision between equivalent quality pieces you really need to hear them. Sound characteristics vary between manufacturers as I'm sure you know.

Tony Lai

Stunt Coordinator
This is just my opinion and prejudices and neuroses.

Out of these four, I take the Onkyo.

Here's my reasoning...

The Denon is getting old and about to be replaced. It lacks EX, lacks enough digital inputs for me and the remote is horrid.

I don't like Yamaha. Never have and like the non RX-V series even less.

The H/K lacks the power for what I need. And overpriced here because it is American (yet made in China, go figure).