Compare these 4 receivers...

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Chad Sunderland, Aug 26, 2002.

1. Chad Sunderland

Chad Sunderland Stunt Coordinator

Hi, I'm looking into getting a new reciever to replace my Yamaha HTR-5460. A few of the reasons that I'm looking to upgrade is, I don't have enough digital audio inputs, and I'd like to have Dolby Pro Logic II and DTS Neo:6 for watching VHS and satellite.

The 4 recievers I am looking at are the Denon AVR-2802, the Yamaha HTR-5490, the Onkyo TX-SR700, and the Harmon Kardon AVR 320.

I am also going to be upgrading my speakers to Axiom M22ti's for the front, a VP150 for the center, and QS-4's for the rear. Any ideas on which receiver would match these speakers best.

I'd appreciate any help you could give me, I realize these are all pretty nice recievers, but I'm having a lot of trouble making a choice. I'm still pretty new to this, so I need the help! Thanks

Chad

2. Paul Clarke

Paul Clarke Supporting Actor

Well it appears you already like Yammy...and the 5490 has more digital inputs than the space shuttle. I own H/K but the 5490 was in the running for me before I purchased. Actually the 5490 is getting a little long in the tooth so getting one on a closeout should be a great buy.

When you get like you are and need to make a decision between equivalent quality pieces you really need to hear them. Sound characteristics vary between manufacturers as I'm sure you know.

3. Jason Wilcox

Jason Wilcox Supporting Actor

the downside i see to the 5490 is the lack of pre-outs. hopefully its replacement will have em.

4. Tony Lai

Tony Lai Stunt Coordinator

This is just my opinion and prejudices and neuroses.

Out of these four, I take the Onkyo.

Here's my reasoning...

The Denon is getting old and about to be replaced. It lacks EX, lacks enough digital inputs for me and the remote is horrid.

I don't like Yamaha. Never have and like the non RX-V series even less.