Compaq Laptop is running very sloooow!

Discussion in 'Computers' started by tim55, Sep 9, 2003.

  1. tim55

    tim55 Extra

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 1999
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have a compaq presario p4 512 ram laptop that has slowed down to the point that I cannot have more than 2 applications running at a time. Anyone have an idea of what I can do to revive it?

    Thanks
     
  2. Steve_AS

    Steve_AS Second Unit

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2002
    Messages:
    412
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    -- disinfect your drives with some good, up to date anti-virus software.

    -- run disc cleanup to remove useless large files

    -- runs some ad-ware /spy-bot software to identify and delete these annoyances

    -- defragment your hard drive
     
  3. tim55

    tim55 Extra

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 1999
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Can anyone recommend a good ad-ware or spybot software?
     
  4. Rob Gillespie

    Rob Gillespie Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 1998
    Messages:
    3,632
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    AdAware and Spybot

    Do a Google search. You'll find the home pages very quickly.
     
  5. Steve_AS

    Steve_AS Second Unit

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2002
    Messages:
    412
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Forgot to add:

    -- clear your browser caches manually (using the brower's options menu) 'just to be sure'.
     
  6. Greg Rakaska

    Greg Rakaska Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 16, 1999
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You didn't mention the O/S, if its NT, Win2k, or XP, bring up the task manager (Ctl+Alt+Del) and check the processes tab. Then click CPU column header to sort by % utilization. Normally the "System Idle Process" should be running about 99% if you are not running any applications.

    If some other process is running a large percentage, determine what it is and then research why it might be sucking up so much CPU.

    As an example, at my place of employment, we have had a real problem with McAfee antivirus running 100% CPU. A little homework on the McAfee site found that the EPO had corrupted some db files. solution: stop the AV services, delete the corrupt files, and restart AV. Some of my technicians had actually reinstalled the O/S to clear the problem before we learned about the corrupted files.

    Like I said that is just an example of a run away process and its solution, more than likely not your problem.
     
  7. Vin

    Vin Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2000
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I had a similar experience a few months back with my
     
  8. tim55

    tim55 Extra

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 1999
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for the info. I'm running XP home ed. if this helps.
     

Share This Page