Comcast to announce DC Metro HDTV...

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Chris Carroll, Mar 14, 2002.

  1. Chris Carroll

    Chris Carroll Auditioning

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2001
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
  2. TheLongshot

    TheLongshot Producer

    Joined:
    May 12, 2000
    Messages:
    4,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Unfortunatly, it doesn't affect me since I have Cox...

    Jason
     
  3. Robert Cranwell

    Robert Cranwell Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2002
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
  4. George Fogel

    George Fogel Agent

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 1998
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does anyone know if the HDTV signal will be decodable by the already-out-there converter boxes?

    I have the RCA 100 (forgot its exact model, it was the first more-or-less reasonably priced one on the market last year) and would hope that I could continue to use it...and I'm already a subscriber to the regular service.
     
  5. Robert Cranwell

    Robert Cranwell Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2002
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    There will be two choices depending on your system.

    Scientific Atlanta stand-alone converter

    Motorola side-car HDD-200 to go with the DCT Digital boxes

    The signal will be a 256qam everywhere so the OTA decoders for 8-VSB will not work. But you could always buy your own HDD-200 side car if you system is using that gear.

    Rob
     
  6. ChrisMatson

    ChrisMatson Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2000
    Messages:
    2,181
    Likes Received:
    0
    [​IMG]
    I live in DC and I want it NOW. Okay...it is great news that they are going to carry HDTV. I'm looking forward to it--but it looks like I may have to wait another year.
     
  7. Erik_C

    Erik_C Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2000
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    No need to wait for HD in DC. The OTA stuff is great. If our cheap-ass ABC affiliate would start broadcasting in HD, too, we'd be all set.

    -Erik
     
  8. George Fogel

    George Fogel Agent

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 1998
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Robert: Thanks for the response; I take it that the Motorola HD-220 somehow attaches to the RCA 100 to decode the cable's HDTV signal?

    Chris: I agree.

    Erik: Definitely...

    Now....if only we could get the Washington Post to carry programming info for Digital TV stations.
     
  9. Robert Cranwell

    Robert Cranwell Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2002
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Robert: Thanks for the response; I take it that the Motorola HD-220 somehow attaches to the RCA 100 to decode the cable's HDTV signal? Sorry, but the HDD-200 only works with the Motorola DCT-Digital box or with the 4DTV on C-Ku Band satellite.

    RCA DTC only works with Directv and OTA.

    Rob.........
     
  10. Steven_ R

    Steven_ R Agent

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2000
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    To all the members of this board from my former hometown of DC (well, actually Montgomery County) - we have Comcast HDTV in Baltimore NOW - so far so good. You need to call Comcast and push them to hook you up. On my first call I was told they were still testing it with employees only. I pushed hard and was transfered to a "special HDTV" department and they agreed to give me the new box.

    Good luck.
     

Share This Page