Comcast HD without digital?

Discussion in 'TV Shows' started by KyleC, Jan 1, 2005.

  1. KyleC

    KyleC Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2003
    Messages:
    846
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just bought a Sony 42WE655 today. I want to use the CC but I have no need of digital cable. We don't watch any of it (we had it before). Can I get just HD channels added from Comcast?
     
  2. TravisR

    TravisR Studio Mogul

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2004
    Messages:
    28,805
    Likes Received:
    5,484
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    The basement of the FBI building
    I have HD service and I have an HD digital box. Maybe you can get the box and only get access to the HD channels (and not the 'regular' digital channels though).

    Call Comcast and ask them.
     
  3. KyleC

    KyleC Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2003
    Messages:
    846
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I wonder if I'll have better luck going to the local office rather than calling the 800 #?
     
  4. Patrick_S

    Patrick_S Producer

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2000
    Messages:
    3,278
    Likes Received:
    102
    Trophy Points:
    4,110
    I have Comcast for the local HD channels and all I have is the basic service. Heck I didn't even need to rent their HD box since my TV has a built in tuner it was able to get the HD channels just by connecting the cable.
     
  5. KyleC

    KyleC Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2003
    Messages:
    846
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Patrick, my TV also has an HD Tuner built in but don't I need the Cable card to access them? I wouldn't even mind paying the extra $ if they were reasonable and gave me all the HD channels but not digital. We had digital for almost a year and never watched it at all. I also don't need On-Demand or any premium channels. I'll have to see what they say, maybe if I threaten to cancel and go to Voom they'll change their mind?
     
  6. Andrew Grall

    Andrew Grall Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    May 17, 1999
    Messages:
    645
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just plug in your cable and see what you get.

    Without a cable card, I get all the local HD stations, but they are kind of numbered weird (channel numbers).
     
  7. KyleC

    KyleC Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2003
    Messages:
    846
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So basically all I'll lose out on is ESPN, Discovery, and INHD? That's not a bad tradeoff.
     
  8. KyleC

    KyleC Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2003
    Messages:
    846
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just got back from the comcast office. I was told that I can get digital basic and a cable card for only 9.95 extra a month. This seems rather low to me and I'm very skeptical. The next available appointment isn't until 1/15 so I have time to play with the tuner and see what I get without a cable card.
     
  9. Bruce Hedtke

    Bruce Hedtke Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 1999
    Messages:
    2,249
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You shouldn't need to subscribe to digital cable to recieve the HD. I have Time-Warner so I'm not sure what Comcast offers, but T/W offers a $6.95/month HD subscription block which includes ESPN, HDNET, HDNET Movies, INHD and INHD2. If you could get that, I would forgo the digital route and just subscribe to the HD package.

    Bruce
     
  10. KyleC

    KyleC Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2003
    Messages:
    846
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well I e-mailed comcast when I got home just to verify everything. I got a response and the woman at the office was wrong, here is what comcast told me in an e-mail:


    So basically all HD channels are only $5, but for $5 more I get like 20 digital channels too. So for only $15 more I think I'm getting a pretty good deal.
     

Share This Page