What's new

comcast HD box with my non-HDTV set??? (1 Viewer)

Sandor

Auditioning
I have comcast coming out tomorrow to set me up with an new motorola HD box. I am thinking its got 5.1 capabilities, WAY faster guides, and better picture.....
I have a sony KP-43T70 tv that I love, but its not HD. I dont really want to go out now and get a new set as of yet, my question is...will this box work with my tv at all? Will i notice a difference if so? Any pros or cons to this?
Please let me know....
Newbie here :)
Thanks!
Sandor

Sandor

Auditioning
100% its the new motorola box specifically for HDTV. I had to beg to get it!!! I curentlly have the comcast regular digital cable box....like yours!

Sandor

Auditioning
so basically ...for now you think I should hook up this box to svideo and call it a day. Do you think itll still be better then the way compressed 120 some odd lines I am getting now? I think from what I have heard regular cable is 320 lines, but digital cuts that in half to give you all the guides and channels. So my goal is to have digital audio so I can take advantage of my 5.1 and also improve the picture. So, seemingly if I do svideo itll be better then it is now and less then HD obviously since I dont have HD! :)
Lets hope the cable guy lets me keep the box..
Are all my assunptions ok thus far?
I hope so!

Vin

Supporting Actor
So, seemingly if I do svideo itll be better then it is now and less then HD obviously since I dont have HD!
Assuming your old box didn't have an S-video output you should see some improvement in video (the improvement realized by going from composite video to S-video is often MOST obvious when viewing text, i.e., much less dot crawl).
I think the greatest benefit you'll get with the new box (until you get an HD capable TV of course ) :) will be on the audio side, with the digital audio output.
Vin

Sandor

Auditioning