Comcast cable

Discussion in 'TV Shows' started by PatH, Aug 14, 2006.

  1. PatH

    PatH Second Unit

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Messages:
    325
    Likes Received:
    1
    First, mods: feel free to move this to any more appropriate forum.

    I'm in Houston TX and have recently learned that Time-Warner will be replaced by Comcast at some point in the near to middle future. I've done a little online research to compare their extended basic service with mine and conclude that SciFi and TCM may be moved to a digital only tier The first is a disaster; the second, a disaster several orders of magnitude worse. Any HTF'ers out there who can provide me with info? I've also heard that the PVR they provide is crappy; is this valid?

    PatH
     
  2. Scott Merryfield

    Scott Merryfield Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 1998
    Messages:
    12,060
    Likes Received:
    925
    Location:
    Michigan

    I have Comcast in the Metro Detroit area, and both SciFi and TCM are part of the extended basic plan. Digital cable is not required for either channel.
     
  3. Jeff Gatie

    Jeff Gatie Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    6,531
    Likes Received:
    15


    Same here in the Boston/NE area. But it really is up to the local Comcast where the channels are put on the dial.
     
  4. Steve Berger

    Steve Berger Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2001
    Messages:
    972
    Likes Received:
    3
    I have not had to make a decision yet but the only way a cable box gets into my house is with a-la-carte programming. If it's not analog or clear QAM (no box required with a newer digital tuner) then it's out. I'll buy my TV (and movies) on DVD if I need to. I tell my local cableco just that every month or so also. If they force a box then they get zip.
     
  5. mylan

    mylan Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    1,689
    Likes Received:
    0
    I resisted for as long as I could but got a box several years ago when Charter moved HBO to the digital tier and I had to have The Sopranos. We are all fighting a losing battle trying to get the cable companies to go ala carte. We, as consumers buy the product that is put before us. If you want more channels, you get a digital box, if you want HD you get an HD box, if you want to record said HD, you get a box that records. Until TIVO comes out with the Series Three, this is the way I roll, there are compromises to everything and boycotting will do no good.
     
  6. LarryDavenport

    LarryDavenport Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 1999
    Messages:
    2,973
    Likes Received:
    0
    In Seattle Comcast is going all digital. [​IMG]
     
  7. Michael Warner

    Michael Warner Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 1999
    Messages:
    737
    Likes Received:
    0

    Well that will about seal the deal for me then. When we moved out here 8 months ago we had cable hooked up since we were using Comcast for broadband anyway. I'm ticked enough that TCM requires a box, if the whole package will require a box I might as well jump to DISH since there's already a dish installed on the house.
     
  8. Brian^K

    Brian^K Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Messages:
    681
    Likes Received:
    0
    We were going to switch to satellite when we got our HDTV, but compared the PQ at some neighbor's homes, and gosh what a difference. We're so much happier that was stuck with Comcast. They don't overly compress the HD, and you can really tell.
     

Share This Page