Comcast broadband cable wont stay connected...

Discussion in 'Computers' started by Kyle McKnight, Aug 19, 2003.

  1. Kyle McKnight

    Kyle McKnight Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2001
    Messages:
    2,504
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Man...all afternoon, after a short period of time, my comcast ineternet will stop working, and I have to unplug my linkysys 4port switch and plug it back in for it to work. Any ideas as to what may be going on?
     
  2. SteveCop

    SteveCop Agent

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2000
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Kyle,
    I'm in Dallas and I haven't noticed any problems today with my Comcast connection.
     
  3. Kyle McKnight

    Kyle McKnight Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2001
    Messages:
    2,504
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hopefully it's just something going on for today. It seems to have stayed connected for the past hour while I watched my encoded copy of The OC. I hope it stays put...
     
  4. Rob Landolfi

    Rob Landolfi Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2002
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Kyle,

    Have you called tech support to check on outages/problems in your area? In northern VA, we had service disruptions with Comcast nearly every day from 10 July through the first week in August, and I understood because of the storms we had. I ended up going in and swapping modems when tech support repeatedly told they couldn't get a signal from my modem, and I've been monitoring ever since.

    I'm running a Netgear router, but took it down to just a straight modem to computer connection until they got everything worked out. Prior to this, it was two-plus years of hassle-free service. Good luck. It's amazing how dependent we get on the internet.
     
  5. Brett DiMichele

    Brett DiMichele Producer

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2001
    Messages:
    3,181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Comcast is being inundated with MSblaster hits (as is your
    machine most likely) it is probably causing the router/switch
    to hang.. Disconnect the power reset the switch and you will
    be good to go.. Nothing else you can do with it untill all
    this crap blows over.
     
  6. Larry Fletcher

    Larry Fletcher Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 1999
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    just saw this. I have the same problem. It is the router. Do you get the "red diag light of death also" . I called linksys a while ago and they said to send it back to them. I didn't feel likewaiting. Mine only happens during t-storms. I do have a surge protector though.
     
  7. Kyle McKnight

    Kyle McKnight Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2001
    Messages:
    2,504
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I haven't had a problem since the day I originally posted this. All lights on the router were normal, as were the cable modem. It just wouldn't stay connected.
     

Share This Page