College Set Up

Discussion in 'Speakers' started by SamJ, Mar 19, 2004.

1. SamJ

SamJ Auditioning

Hi all, first post here.

Well, I'm a poor college student, and am looking for a decent speaker set-up.

Because of size constraints, I'm really limited to 2 bookshelf speakers. I'm looking to spend somewhere around 250 on them, but am willing to go up to around 400 if the speakers are good enough. Also, because I am in a dorm, they need to have very good sound at low volume levels. I'll probably be using them equally between TV and music.

Well, I'm looking for recommendations because my ear is pretty bad. I went and listened to a few speakers in my local best buy, but very few stood out. The only thing I could differentiate was that Kiplisch and Polk have decent speakers. From browsing here, I've heard good things about Paradigms, Axioms, and Ascend's.

Any recommendations would be helpful.

Thank you

2. Tim Stumpf

Tim Stumpf Stunt Coordinator

Your ears are probably better than you think. The speakers you mentioned are likely the best that you're going to hear at the big retailers. You may want to check out fluance speakers. I'm not allowed to post the website, but it's easy to figure out. Good bang for the buck, and well regarded by some on these forums. They recently came out with bookshelf speakers. That's where I found out about them, bought some and am happy with them.

3. Chris Quinn

Chris Quinn Screenwriter

Having had Paradigms and having Ascends. In your price range Ascend and Axiom's offerings are the better choices.

4. CurtisSC

CurtisSC Screenwriter

What is your overall budget? Do you have a receiver already?

5. Jonathan Lofgren

Jonathan Lofgren Stunt Coordinator

I'm a poor college student too. Over Christmas break I built a pair of GR-Research AV-1s and they are fantastic. If you can build speakers yourself, I would definitely do that.