What's new

College Dorm Room Sub (1 Viewer)

Steebrad

Auditioning
Real Name
Stephen B.
Whats going on people... I am a college student in Italy, however I am in the States for a couple more weeks. I am looking into getting a sub for my home theater.
Heres the guidelines:

1. Of course I am just a poor college kid so it needs to be fairly inexpensive.
2.I have a 7.1 receiver already and all speakers except for a sub.
3. I am not looking for the biggest punch in the smallest / cheapest package since base level will be an issue in the building concerning all of my neighbors.
4. I need a sub with good sound that will add to the total experience of the theater but I am clueless on where to start looking since I have never owned a sub before.

Thanks in advance for any feedback I receive... chow

Shane Harg

Second Unit
Want the best advice? Wait until you graduate.

If that's not an option, look to the smaller SVS sealed (not ported) cabinet subs. They are a lot of sub for the money. You didn't mention your budget, but if you need to go cheaper, look into buying something pre-owned.

Steebrad

Auditioning
Real Name
Stephen B.
Well Shane I really want a sub and i've got some money to spare so I am gonna get one now.

Yeah perfect Thomas...My budget is right around the 200 dollar mark. So if I decide to get the 12 inch sub, what would be the best way to connect it to my receiver? I noticed on the picture of the back of the sub...it looks like there is just RCA audio out. On my receiver there is a sub input but its just 1 hole, not red and white. Do you own one of these. And if so how do they sound. Any tips or tricks to properly set them up in the theater? What does the "Phase" switch mean?

Thx

JaceTheAce

Auditioning
Real Name
Jason