Coaxial to Optical adapter?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Mike S., Dec 29, 2002.

  1. Mike S.

    Mike S. Auditioning

    Joined:
    May 23, 1999
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have recently added digital cable to my A/V setup.
    They offer 5.1 Dolby Digital on certain HBO and PPV movies, but my Sony receiver only has 1 coaxial input, which is being used by my DVD player.

    Is there such thing as a converter or adapter, so I can connect the Coaxial Digital Audio out to the Optical Digital Audio in on my receiver?

    If so, where can I find one?

    Thanks,
    Mike S.
     
  2. Eric Samonte

    Eric Samonte Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 1999
    Messages:
    1,318
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  3. Andrew S

    Andrew S Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2001
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If your dvd player has an optical output, could you not use the optical input on your receiver for your DVD player and the coaxial for your cable? Just a thought that popped into my head.
    Andrew
     
  4. Mike S.

    Mike S. Auditioning

    Joined:
    May 23, 1999
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Andrew, I thought about this, but what's weird about my Sony 30ES receiver, is that there is only one coaxial input, and it's only labeled DVD/LD player. So, if I hooked my cable into this, the receiver would read DVD/LD when I wanted to watch cable.

    Is there a way to change what's on the display?
     
  5. Nick A. G.

    Nick A. G. Auditioning

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Most Sony ES surround receivers I've seen have reassignable digital inputs. Consult the manual that came with your unit to see if you can do this or not.
     
  6. Mike S.

    Mike S. Auditioning

    Joined:
    May 23, 1999
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Anyone have an ES model? I moved recently and can't find my manual.
    I just want to know if you can reassign digital inputs. Why they only put one coaxial digital input I don't know.
    Thanks.
     

Share This Page