Coaxial or Optical Differences

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Doug Lachman, Jul 11, 2001.

1. Doug Lachman

Doug Lachman Auditioning

Please excuse the dumb newbie question . . . I am in the process of upgrading my receiver from an old JVC prologic to a new Onkyo. The old receiver does not have either a coaxial or optical input for my DVD player, only RCA inputs. The Onkyo has both. Is there a difference between the two? What is the recommended connection? Please help, I am going out at lunch today to pick up the new receiver.

2. Paul S Gregory

I'm no expert but I think you are better off using a good coax cable.
    The main concern, I think, is if the optical connector is glass or plastic.

3. David Susilo

David Susilo Screenwriter

Don't mean to be harsh here, but what does a search button do? To do a search for the very same question that gets asked for the umpteenth time!.

4. Reginald Trent

Reginald Trent Screenwriter

I along with most others here feel there is no difference in sound quality between the two. The consensus seems to be go with the least expensive connector that best fits your needs.
    BTW Dave, the search function is usally disabled due to the additional stress it puts on the server.
    ------------------

5. Hank Frankenberg

Hank Frankenberg Cinematographer

Yeah David, that was a tad harsh. My experience is that for the last 10 times I've clicked on the search tab, I received the message that it was unavailable at the time for 8 of my attempts.

6. Mark Austin

Mark Austin Supporting Actor

quote: I along with most others here feel there is no difference in sound quality between the two.[/quote]
    I must have missed the official poll on the subject. Do we really know if most others here feel that way?
    I personally prefer coax on PCM mterial.
    [Edited last by Mark Austin on July 11, 2001 at 08:55 AM]

7. Steve_D

Steve_D Second Unit

I just researched and debated this subject.