Coaxial Digital Input, DD5.1 and DTS

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by Stephen Coffee, Jun 25, 2003.

1. Stephen Coffee

Stephen Coffee Auditioning

Hey guys, i'm a noob here but looking forward to your expertise. Hopefully the answer to my question hasn't been posted yet, but if it was I was unable to find it.

Heres my problem:

My receiver only has one coaxial digital input, but two optical digital inputs. I need to use the coaxial digital for my dvd player, because it has no optical output, but the coaxial input on the receiver is designated to be used for CD.

The receiver defaults the CD source as stereo, when obviously i want to use it for Dolby Digital and DTS. The audio input for the DVD source is optical, so would i be better off converting it to optical or running it through the CD input?

I am able to get the receiver to accept a PCM signal to use for Digital Stereo, but when i switch it to 6-channel (5.1) mode, and change the dvd output to bistream, it does not work. I know my receiver decodes DD and DTS, so thats not the problem.

Any input? (no puns intended)

2. Stephen Coffee

Let me know if I would be better off posting this on the Receivers/Seperates/Amps Board.

3. Michael Reuben

Michael Reuben Studio Mogul

It sounds like your receiver expects only PCM on the coax input. I'm moving this to Receivers, because this seems to be more of a configuration issue. (And it might help if you listed the make and model of the receiver.)

Your easiest solution may be a coax-to-optical converter. I believe Radio Shack offers one. Maybe someone else can provide more specific information.

M.

4. Mark Hedges

Mark Hedges Second Unit

I have a Midiman CO2 coaxial/optical converter for sale. It will convert coax to optical or optical to coax.

Let me know if you are interested.

Mark

5. Stephen Coffee

The Receiver is an RCA RT2500 (not the best, i know)

Radioshack does not have (and has never heard of) one of these, i checked yesterday.