Coax or Optical from DVD to Reciever?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Mike__D, Aug 14, 2001.

1. Mike__D

Mike__D Supporting Actor

Which is better? I'm currently using coax but was wondering if Optical will be better.
    Thanks,
    Mike D.

2. Brian Corr

Brian Corr Supporting Actor

Don't sweat it! Either does the job and if you can hear a significant difference, your ears are better than mine!

3. MarshawnM

MarshawnM Stunt Coordinator

Mike,
    I also use coax. I am a Network engineer, and fiber optical cable is harder to handle (bend radius, end connector, etc). If the optical cable has slight errors, it will degrade your signal, in my opinon stick with the coax. Optical is useful when you are going far distances, but in a home theater implementation, I wouldn’t consider it.
    Marshawn

4. Mike__D

Mike__D Supporting Actor

Thank you both, I was just curious. Everything sounds great with the coax, just wanted to know if I'd benfit from optical.
    Mike D.

5. LesterLiu

LesterLiu Extra

in my opinion, digital is digital, it doesn't matter how the signal gets there, its just a bunch of 1's and 0's regardless.

6. dougW

dougW Stunt Coordinator

Well, I agree with Marshawn on this one. There can be a difference, and you can hear it. Optical goes through another step in decoding, so you cannot say they are the same, and a lot of how well an optical handles this is based upon the quality of the RX/TX optical signal decoder can cause the process to create a more "digital" sounding soundstage. Usually that's due to the quality of the optical transistor in the RX part as well as perhaps transistors that follow in the signal path. In essense, something happens during the decoding process by inferior optical decoders to take away the smoothness capable with a good quality digital coax.
    Lex
    ------------------
    Lexman's Theater

7. Saurav

Saurav Cinematographer

quote: Wheres the guy who uses the coat hanger for his coax?[/quote]