Coax Cable?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Frank Chang, Dec 11, 2001.

1. Frank Chang

Frank Chang Agent

I'm new in the digital domain. Does it matter what type of coax cable is used for digital connection between DVD and AV receiver? I've never used the coax connectors before.

I'm connecting DVD from home theater to a family room HT. Just installed Denon 3802 in family room and did not realize 5.1 etc effects need to be sent thru digital cable. I do have spare coax run between two rooms, some for initial cable signal no longer in use and also a spare monster quad sheilded coax for satellite signal distribution. Would either of these be appropriate?

2. Willem Vos

Willem Vos Stunt Coordinator

Well as long as they're 75 Ohms, they should be good.

Also, the more shielded the better, and the shorter the cable run the better (but not too short :)).

Just put some RCA plugs on either side and you should be good to go.

3. Frank Chang

Frank Chang Agent

Thanks,

The run is about 20 feet (between two rooms on different floors) and how do you know for sure if it is 75 ohms?

4. Vin

Vin Supporting Actor

5. Frank Chang

Frank Chang Agent

Thanks, I'll give it a try tonight. I have the RCA F connectors on hand.

Is there any theoretical length limitation for coax to conduct the digital data?

6. broderp

broderp Auditioning

I have been working onthis myself, in an effort to prove you can get a HIGH DEF signal thru coax, and have just as good a picture as those overly expensive MONSTER CABLES every one pushes.

RG-59 or RG-6 is specified as 75 ohm cable.

High Definition signal require a bandwith of about 1.5GHZ. RG-6 is good for up to 2.2GHZ. I would suggest you use RG6 as your cable of choice. I would also suggest you use Beldon cable 1694A or equivielnt for the best possible signal trasnfer with the least attenuation.