Classical Music, need composers for certain style

Discussion in 'Music' started by Rhett_Y, Feb 13, 2002.

1. Rhett_Y

Rhett_Y Screenwriter

Hello all.

Here is what I am looking for. I am new to classical music, but what I have heard I like the darker sounding music styles with chorols. I.E., O`fortuna (don't know who does it or from what album it is from, would like to know what album it is from thou!!!!!), in the hall of the mountain king (Edvard Gieg). I don't want the happy stuff or instrumentals with just string instruments. I am looking for the darker toned, more ominous sounding recordings, if that makes sense.

Thanks

R~

2. Stefan A

Stefan A Second Unit

Rhett,

Good to hear from you again. O Fortuna is the opening of "Carmina Burana" by Carl Orff.

You seem to like the choral stuff. I am not up on a lot of that, but I will try to throw some in. Some of the pieces are quite long, so the whole thing won't be "dark". But, I will pick pieces that are, or contain this style.

Prokofiev - Alexander Nevsky

Brahms - A German Requiem

Mahler - Symphony #2

Beethoven - Symphony #5 or 7

Wagner - selections from "The Ring"

Bruckner - Symphony #8?

Stravinsky - Rite of Spring

As I think of stuff, I will just add to this list.

3. rob kilbride

rob kilbride Supporting Actor

Rob Kilbride
    Here's some movie soundtracks with some dark choral music: Star Wars The Phantom Menace: Duel of the Fates, Bakshi's Lord of the Rings: Helm's Deep, Galdiator:Am I Not Merciful(the part after he stabs Maximus).

4. Bob_L

Bob_L Supporting Actor

Bob Lindstrom
    You could try "Catulli Carmina," another composition by Carl Orff in the same style. (I especially like the lyrics. At one point the chorus sings, "Boobs, boobs, boobs, boobs, boobs, boobs, boobs, booooooooooobbsssssss." Of course, they're singing in Latin so no one gets offended except ancient language scholars. :) )