civil engineering student - summer plans!! help!!

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Benny G, Jan 31, 2003.

1. Benny G

Benny G Second Unit

This would probably best be answered by a professional civil engineer, but I won't ignore everyone else. [​IMG]

I'm a civil engineering undergrad student. I plan on going to grad school for structural engineering. I have one more year remaining after this semester til my undergrad is done.

I have never had an internship or any full-time research experience. I have to decide what I want to and should do this summer.

I always thought it was best to get real-life experience in a workplace. One of my professors seems to think I'd be much better off doing civil engineering related research at a university (various places throughout the U.S.). He said an internship with a company won't help me as much as participating in a research program.

As far as pay, research would get me anywhere from $10-12 per hour. I'm not positive about an internship, but I think it'd be about $10-14, depending on various things.

I personally think an internship would be better. I can't tell if my professor is just partial because he's a professor and been involved with research his whole career.

Any advice?? Thanks!![​IMG]

2. DavidY

DavidY Supporting Actor

I'm not familar with the term, internship. Is that just work experience with a private engineering firm?

Is the prof a registered or licensed professional engineer? I am not familar with professional engineering designations and licensing issues in the US....except that they are known as P.E. Here in Canada, we are called P.Eng. (except in Quebec).