What's new

Choosing a projector (1 Viewer)

PeterVK

Auditioning
Hi, I am a newbie in home theater land. I want to buy myself an LCD projector. I had an old one before, and the results were not great. Going to home theater stores they tell me I need a graphics grade projector, starting at around 8K. This is way above my budget. I think that a regular XGA projector, with about 1000 Lumens, minimum 300:1 aspect ratio would give a good result. Comments???

Matt Stryker

Screenwriter
Real Name
Matt
Peter-

When you say the old one was not great, what was wrong with it? Did it not have very good black levels, too dim, too loud, etc?

Also, are you strictly considering LCD or are you open to DLP or D-ILA projectors as well?

By 300:1 are you talking about contrast ratio? Aspect ratio would either be 4:3 or 16:9.

And welcome to the Forum!

RAF

Senior HTF Member
Deceased Member
The last thing you need to do is purchase a projector at a home theater salon. Most of them try to push "high end" models and they get an attitude when you suggest that anything in the $5K range or less can compete. That is total B.S. in this day and age. The day where you needed a 200-300 pound CRT based unit at megabuck pricing are long gone.

I'm using a SONY VW10HT which cost me $5500 when I purchased it 2 years ago and has now been replaced by the 11HT. I understand the price of my unit (if you can still find one) is now in the area of $4K or even less. And I'd stack my projector up against any of the so-called "HT shop" stores any day of the week. Check out my HT web site for more details.

There are also a lot of other options even cheaper than the Sony VW10/11HT that might meet your needs. See some of the links here. You certainly don't need to spend $8K.

PeterVK

Auditioning
it was too dim, very little contrast, a bit fuzzy. I am not looking for perfect, but a little more than acceptable only.

And you're right, I was talking contrast ratio

Matt Stryker

Screenwriter
Real Name
Matt