checking test tones from speakers

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Rick J, Nov 29, 2002.

1. Rick J

Rick J Stunt Coordinator

i'm a newbie to this group. i've searched and read posts from here for about the past 2 hours but haven't seen an answer to my problem. i'm very much a novice when it comes to ht setup,knowledge, etc. i'm a ht enthusiast trying to better my setup/experience and learn more as i go(like most here).
    sorry if this has been addressed elsewhere, but here's the problem. when i use the audio test tones from either the thx optimizer or from my receiver, i get sound coming out of more than one speaker at a time. for example, when checking the front right speaker volume, i also hear sound coming from the right rear as well. is that normal or is something wrong? i have checked all the polarities and they are correct.
    i have the avia disc and have used it for calibrating the video but need to purchase the rs sound meter to calibrate the audio. will this take care of my audio problem or is it something else?
    thanks! rick

if it helps, here's my setup:
    sony 53hs30 tv
    denon avr 1803
    klipsch ksw-12 sub
    klipsch sc-1 center
    klipsch quintets for mains/surrounds

2. Frank Carter

Frank Carter Screenwriter

No that is not normal. If you're receiver has "B" speaker outputs, maybe you accidentally hooked your surrounds into that. That's the only thing I can think of that would create your problem, other than a faulty receiver. If the THX optimizer and receiver tones are doing it, then Avia will probably do it as well.

3. Bob McElfresh

Bob McElfresh Producer

I think I know! [​IMG]
    You have one of the DSP modes like "Hall" or "Church" turned on. These effects 'steal' sound from say the front speakers and pump the sound out the rears to mimic an echo effect.
    Make sure all the DSP effects are turned off before you try to calibrate.

4. DerekF

DerekF Stunt Coordinator