What's new

Cheap Receiver (1 Viewer)

Riccardo Dicola

Auditioning
Hello everyone,
My girlfriend bought me for Christmas a Theater Research Home System speakers model TR-7000. My old receiver is way too old to support this kind of speakers and I'm therefore forced to buy a new one....I can't afford to buy anything above $ 350.00 for the time being and I was looking at the models Circus City and Best Buy have on sale...i.e. Sony STRDE 595 for 199.99 and similar...
Since I'm fairly new with such systems could someone please help me in identifying a decent receiver to support my TR-7000?
Here are the specifications:
Digital Sub-Woofer 200 Watts @ 8 Ohms
Satellite Speakers 120 Watts X 5
Frequency Response 80-20 Khz Center
Frequency Response 20-180 Hz Subwoofer
CD-DVD Player Ready
Thanks in advance for your help...this site is GREAT!!!

ChrisLazarko

Supporting Actor
Well i'm not sure how your reciever couldn't handle it, but in any case if you are looking for a new one with all the latest bells and whistles the first thing I would say to do it avoid a store like CircuitCity or Bestbuy. They sell everything at MSRP so you will basically get ripped off.

Also, something else I would try to avoid would be the lower-end Sony line. I've owned them, know people who have owned them, and they all have fallen apart and broke within a year or two.

I would say take a look at the Harman/Kardon AVR-125 refurb. at www.harmanaudio.com or perhaps the Onkyo TSX-501 seems to be a popular choice too. Enjoy.

John S

Senior HTF Member
Go for at least a 6.1 reciever.
With HDTV comming soon, maybe consider one with Component Video Switching of 50mhz bandwidth or higher.

The Onkyo is available at ecost.com for like $185 and is really a nice unit that meets both of these requirements.

Topher

Stunt Coordinator