cheap pair of 90W subwoofers for folded horn type thingie?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Drew_E, Aug 7, 2002.

1. Drew_E

Drew_E Agent

ok so first off i'm a college student and i am just tossin' together what i think could be a respectable sounding system, for real cheap. i live in an apartment BY MYSELF so it isn't going to be a theater and the neighbors wouldn't appreciate me getting 2kW of audio. i have a Harmon Kardon 120 receiver (50Wx5) and a Marantz 500 (somethin-er-other) (rated like 130W mono 8 ohm, 180W mono 4 ohm). i'm thinkin' about building this folded horn type deal designed by Steve Deckert, i'm not sure if you guys are familiar with his work... but they're pretty damn good designs. here's the idea:
    [​IMG]
    i'm going to build it this weekend for a pair of 12" i think. a pair of 8 ohm subs (parallel) on the mono Marantz amp would fit the ticket nicely i assume.
    now i have no experience with home audio subs at all but i do know my share about subs/car audio/etc. for a "real" horn i would need something with high EBP (high Fs, low Qts), a "compressoin driver." This thing looks more like a modified 4th order bandpass and i think those like lower EBP like a sealed box. I'm not too picky and i'd just as easily go to Radio Shack and use those. Does anyone know of a more "decent" alternative? i had considered the Adire Audio Shiva at $134 a pop but they're good for like 600W and i don't have or NEED anything near that. Anyone have a good solution for like $50 a pop or less? call me cheap, fine, but as they say "it's all in the install."

2. Dustin B

Dustin B Producer

You should post this in the DIY advanced section. I'm not sure what that design will do. But I'd guess that a single Shiva in a simple ported box would out gun that design with some really cheap drivers thrown in it.
    Here is what I think of as a folded bass horn.
    http://www.hometheaterforum.com/htfo...threadid=70277

3. Drew_E

Drew_E Agent