Charlie Chan Mr. Moto Fox Release

Discussion in 'DVD' started by Tom Mantan D., Jan 13, 2004.

1. Tom Mantan D.

Well,
    Peter Staddon has nixed the dvd releases of these films in last night's chat due to the potential of losing his shirt on the releases. While I respect the man, I am at an utter loss of words. Did Fox look at the bootleg sales of these films for the last 20 years thru mail order and EBAY or how well MPI has done with the Sherlock Holmes films of the same era? OR how well Alpha Video has done with the Mr. Moto public domain title? WHAT AM I MISSING HERE????? I work with high finance for a living, I deal with profit. I know I am financially literate, but am having great difficulty understanding that statement. IF Fox does not wish to release them, WHY not license them to MPI or whomever as a third party release. I find this whole situation to be absolutely unbelieveable. This is a true shame for film history. What's even more bogus, is that all of the "restoration" work has already been performed on these films. And they are working on a big screen Charlie Chan film featuring Lucy Liu? WHAT GIVES?
    Frustrated,
    Tom D.

2. Hank Frankenberg

Hank Frankenberg Cinematographer

Tom, I totally agree with you. I've thought for quite a while that I'd definitely buy the Charlie Chan movies if they are released on DVD. You might want to start a petition to Mr. Stadon, asking for either a release or licensing the films to a company that would release them.

3. Jay E

Jay E Cinematographer

I don't understand how these films could be considered unprofitable on DVD. Maybe the criticism of these films as presenting sterotypical characters may be scaring the studio off. Very sad & frustrating!

4. Robert Crawford

Robert Crawford Moderator

Robert