changing aspect ratio with PC?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Danny B, Dec 26, 2001.

1. Danny B

Danny B Extra

HI,

im new to all this and only know a little about PC's.

What i wanna do is this:

I have a 2.35:1 SCREEN and when i watch a dvd movie with a aspect ratio of 2.35:1,the screen fills nicely from top to bottom,no complaints.

BUT if i put a dvd movie thats got a ratio of 1.78:1 or 1.85:1 then the top part of the movie comes out of the screen(thats a 2.35:1) and projects on to the wall a bit...not very nice.

What i want to do is control this with a PC if possible,making the top squashed a bit to fit back into the 2.35:1 screen.

NOTE:im not using the PC at the moment,just a interlaced DVD player with a projector BUT i have a PIII 450mhz with a dvd player and would upgrade if needed as long as i can control this overflow of the image(meaning adjust the picture to fit on the screen using the mouse to resize the edges).

If this is all possible i will go the HTPC way.

Also if i use a HTPC,can i still use my external DVD player and not the HTPC's dvd player.I like the 5disc changer that it has plus the DD and DTS decoder it has.

Let me know about this stuff first and then ill go and ask a few more questions that i have regarding HTPC that i need to know.

Thanks a million...

2. Shayne Lebrun

Shayne Lebrun Screenwriter

This is a function of your projector, not your source. If you try to take a large picture and cram it into a small space, you'll either get distortion (like an animorphic DVD being displayed raw to a 4x3 screen), or some form of letter boxing. What you're proposing, I think, is method one; change it from 16x9, for example, to, say, 15.5x9 and hope it looks OK.

3. JohanK

JohanK Second Unit