Changing 10" driver in Dayton Tiny Might II

Discussion in 'Home Theater Projects' started by MuneebM, May 19, 2004.

1. MuneebM

MuneebM Supporting Actor

Has anyone ever changed the 10" driver in the Dayton 10" 100-watt powered subwoofer from Parts Express, aka Tiny Mighty II?

My HSU STF-2 driver had the air leak issue, so HSU is sending me a brand new 10" driver. My current HSU 10" driver can easily be sealed with silicone sealant to solve the air leak issue. Once that's done I plan to use it in my Dayton sub instead of the original 10" driver. Anyone foresee any problems with this, such as:
    (a) not enough amp power for the HSU driver
    (b) HSU driver won't sound good with the Dayton box design
    (c) any other concerns?

Please advise, I'm a complete noob to DIY or modding HT equipment.

http://66.46.69.23/sigserv/pl/index.pl?p=1
    Dynamic signature images powered by mod_perl running on Apache.
    My DVD Collection

2. Justin_A_D

Justin_A_D Auditioning

I would be interested in knowing this too, but not necessarily just for the HSU sub but any possible sub upgrade.

3. MuneebM

MuneebM Supporting Actor

Got my new STF-2 driver, popped it in my HSU STF-2. No more air leak, nice clean, tight, sweet bass [​IMG]

What to do with old driver, I thought? So I tried it in the Dayton. WOW! The difference was immediately noticeable: the bass is much cleaner and tighter with the STF-2 driver in the Dayton. And now my Dayton goes lower (frequency-wise) than it ever did before. Its also louder: I had to turn down the gain on the Dayton's amp (1/5 of a turn) to achieve the same SPL levels as before with the original Dayton driver (verified with SPL meter).

My new modded Dayton Tiny Mighty II is much better than it ever was. The STF-2 driver weighs twice as much as the el cheapo 10" driver the Dayton comes with, which is attributed to the fact that it has a much larger magnet with larger coils.