What's new

Cerwin Vega LW-12 (2 Viewers)

George Monroy

Stunt Coordinator
I just bought a Cerwin Vega LW-12 subwoofer and am having trouble configuring it. It has an a volume knob and a knob for frequency range between 40Hz and 120Hz. How does the Frequency knob work?

Also on my Sony DTS/Dolby Digital receiver how do I configure the LFE? Is negative LFE more bass or less bass?

I am new to all of this 5.1 stuff but I am learning. My manuals though don't seem to explain these things to me.

I tried Halo and DOA3 on the Xbox with the subwoofer and I hardly heard a thing at all in the sub but I am not sure if it was my config or if the games doesn't support a sub but they seem to support it because my receiver auto detects the LFE from the game. How was that for a runon sentence?

Thank you all for your help in answering these questions.

ColinM

Senior HTF Member
OK -

If you are using the line level input to the sub (RCA), make sure all speakers are set to 'small'. Trust me.

Keep the crossover knob on the sub all the way UP, highest setting. This will allow the Sony to do the filtering. If you are using speaker wire into the sub, you are better off to use speaker wire out, too, to the front 2 speakers. This isn't the most recommended method, but I don't know what you have going. If this is the case, set the front main speakers to LARGE, sub to 'OFF' or 'NO' if there's no RCA from the receiver to the sub. In this setup you use the crossover knob on the sub to cut out the bass in the front speakers and keep it in the sub. This takes time, tweaking it so that the front speakers blend well with the sub. I start with the crossover all the way down, 50 or whatever, and the volume up so that I can hear something. Bringing up the crossover bit by bit while blending the volume on the sub to make it sound right, you should finish up around 80hz or so....