What's new

center speaker (newbie) (1 Viewer)

Anthony Moore

Supporting Actor
I have my HT setup and I love it. Theres only one thing I would change. The center speaker. Rght now I have this crappy Pioneer that came with these surround speakers I dont even use. I think it was like $100 for all 3 speakers.I know that its hindering my chances at optimum sound.
Problem is, im a college student with barely any money. Whats the center speaker with the most "bang for the buck"?"
Good ones for around $100? $200?
Please let me know. Ive searched on eBay, but i dont erally know whats good and not.
Thanks for your input

Jeremy Hegna

Supporting Actor
Anthony,
It is of upmost importance to voice match (same drivers) your center speaker to your mains. This will give you identical sound across your front sound stage. It's nearly impossible to timbre match speakers that are made by different manufacturers.
That said, this may not be an option on your budget. However, your center channel, IMO, is THE most important speaker in your system. You may want to cruise around to your local dealers and listen to what they have in stock. Choose the best sounding speaker to your ears, and then search e-bay.
It is a good idea to have in mind what you may want to upgrade your mains to in the future. That way, you could get the matching center for them and do the mains at a later date.
Jeremy

Anthony Moore

Supporting Actor
Well, my front speakers are like 20 years old. Theyre Fischers. I would upgrade them, but they just sound too great. So, I dont think I can find a good center made by them, if they even make speakers anymore.
Any other suggestions for my price range?
Thanks for the input.

JerryHatchett

Stunt Coordinator
Anthony, I was using a Bose satellite system (what they called their "Ultimate Home Theater" package) for several years and became unhappy with the lack of robust sound as well as the extreme directional nature of the speakers.