What's new

Center Speaker Help (1 Viewer)

losmags

Auditioning
Real Name
Steve
Hello everyone. Newbie here. I've recently started checking out similar forums, and was recommended to check this one out and state my problem. Here goes!

BACKGROUND
I know next to nothing about home theater audio. So there's my background.

THE PROBLEM
I'll be mounting a large LCD over my fireplace, which I likely won't be using often (the fireplace, that is). I should state that this--for reasons not getting into--is where the TV *must* be placed.

I've acquired a set of B&W 602 S3 surround speakers and a receiver/amp. I'll have two speakers on the floor on either side of the fireplace, and two surround speakers somewhere in the rear of the room. (Oh yeah, and a bass module somewhere in the room.)

The problem is the center speaker. It's unfortunately too big to mount above/below the TV without being EXTREMELY awkward/obtrusive.

It was suggested that I clean out the fireplace, paint it black on the inside, and set up a small stand for the center speaker. I've seen people put candles and other decorations in the fireplace, and several people have said the speaker in the fireplace wouldn't be too odd, but I'd rather not go that route if possible.

THE (DESIRED) SOLUTION
I would like to get a new center speaker to mount below the TV. I've seen some that are fairly small by Bose and KEF. The problem I've been told is if I use a different center speaker, it may sound odd working with the B&W's that I have.

So, is anyone familiar with the B&W's and know of a mountable center speaker from another company that could adequately complement the rest of the system?

Again, the TV's going to be where it's at, and the rest of the speakers are going to be what they are. I'm hoping someone here has a recommendation that fits these unfortunately tight constraints.

Thanks in advance! From the little I've seen so far on these boards, it seems like a cool community.

Ed Moxley

Senior HTF Member