What's new

Center Channels a Gimic? (1 Viewer)

Greg Racki

Grip
If quality two channel speakers, during cd-playback, can reproduce a soundstage that can place voices across the "front wall," supposedly very accurately, why do we feel the need for center channels in HT? I've read things stating that "without a center channel, voices will sound like they are coming from the corners." That doesn't seem to make sense given the way stereo speakers are very capable of portraying a wide and dynamic soundstage.

I have Ascend 340ms and a 340c up front.

I did this little test last night. I started playing the Phantom of the Opera DVD and went into the pioneer's set-up menu (while the audio was still playing). I listened for a while and then switched off the center speaker (channeling the center sounds to the left and right). It sounded way better with the center channel off, even when I placed the center channel in a more optimal ear-level position. Does this make any sense? The voices sounded less realistic and the music was far less impressive. I even played with the MCACC, which did little to remedy the problem.

Maybe just the 340c isn't that good of a center channel, or something else is wrong, but I'm starting to think that I don't want a center in my system at all.

Anybody agree or can tell me why I'm way off?

AlbertD

Stunt Coordinator