What's new

Center Channel Not Quite Loud Enough (1 Viewer)

Spottedfeather

Stunt Coordinator
Real Name
Matt
I'm new to surround sound so...bear with me please. I have an Onkyo HT-R391 receiver that came with 5 speakers and a subwoofer. I'm having trouble adjusting the center and front left/right speakers. The sound is a lot better than tv or stereo speakers, but I think I'm not setting it up properly. First off, I hear about 50% more out of my right side than my left side. I believe that I've found the right balance between the speakers, though. The speakers go from -12db to +12db. What should I set the center speaker at so that I can clearly hear the dialogue but not get overwhelmed by the effects ? Right now, I have the left front speaker set at -2db, the right front speaker is set at -8db, and the center speaker is set at +12db. But I still find that the effects are a tad too loud when I have the volume where I can clearly hear the dialogue. I guess it all depends on the way they mix a particular movie, right ? Would setting the front speakers to their lowest levels (right front at it's lowest of -12db and the left front speaker at -6db) help any ? Also, how loud should I set the left and right surround speakers ? Should they be set at the same db level as the front speakers ?

schan1269

HTF Expert
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Sam
A few things to check...
If this receiver has a Dynamic Range Control, you might need to use it. Most of us have a disdain...others need it.
Try turning the sub gain down, it could be muddying the situation.
Is the center in "direct line"...or have you hidden it in any way(like facing your feet, not your head)?
Is the source 5.1 or 2.0 DPL?

Spottedfeather

Stunt Coordinator
Real Name
Matt