Center channel is too high when on top of TV...Stands for floorstanding speakers?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Dan Kolacz, Jul 9, 2002.

1. Dan Kolacz

Dan Kolacz Stunt Coordinator

Hello,

I have noticed that the audio in 5.1 movies does not quite pan correctly in my setup.

I have a 61" TV and the center channel is on top of it.

I have some older Infinity Delta 60 floorstanding speakers. I was thinking of getting some stands for these to raise them up about 16 inches to make them even with the center channel. The problem is that the biggest stands that I can find have 8x5" x 8x5" surface.

These speakers are oddly shaped as well. About 9 inches wide in the front. About 5-6 inches wide in the back. And about 12 inches deep.

Any suggestions or just live with it?

2. Dan Kolacz

3. Jeff James

Jeff James Agent

I'm not too sure if raising the floor standing speakers would help your cause very much at all here. I'm no acoustics expert though. I have some Klipsch tower speakers that stand on their own pretty high but they are not level with my Center Channel that sits on top of my Mitsu 55" RPTV....the Mitsu sits pretty darn high up as well. Panning is accurate for what I have setup. What are you using to process your surround sound and for amplification?? A receiver of some sort?

-J

4. Geoff S

Geoff S Stunt Coordinator

Perhaps you could try tilting the center channel so it points more towards the listening position.

Although... this sounds more like a problem in your front 3 speakers and how they pair with each other. They should have seamless panning between them. Also could perhaps be a problem with your receiver and the way it's processing the front stage.

Just a possibility.

5. felix_suwarno

felix_suwarno Screenwriter

i also want a speaker stand for small towers for my future ht.
    somebody suggested this :
    http://www.soundanchors.com/page69.html