What's new

Center channel dropped out. Why? (1 Viewer)

bmeyer6472

Grip
Real Name
Bob
Last night I was watching my first Blu-Ray movie, The Bucket List, and several times during the movie, the sound on the center channel dropped down so low that you could barely hear it. The other channels seemed to be working fine. The player is a Sony BDP-S550 and the pre/pro is an Integra DTC 9.8. Connections are HDMI. The drop outs did not occur at the exact same places when re-playing the disc, but relatively close, like in the same scene; and switching from one surround mode to others had no effect. Have there been problems with some Blu-Ray discs similar to this? I got the disc from Netflix. Incidentally, the multi-channel sound has always worked fine until this.

If this is an old subject, I apologize - I'm new here, and I'm new to HD also. If anyone has an idea what may be going on, I'd love to hear it.

Bob

bmeyer6472

Grip
Real Name
Bob
I had all the cables off today, but haven't tried it since I put it back together. Wife in hospital, so not much time right now. Is there a history of HDMI cables working sometimes and not others? I thought they either worked, or not. But thanks for the suggestion. If it continues, I may buy a different cable and try that.

Bob

Carlo S

Stunt Coordinator
I myself dont use HDMI, as I cannot anyway.

Maybe it could be a problem with your HDMI cable, maybe a problem with your speaker wire? It could be something very simple, but then again it may not.

Since you only mentioned the centre channel, maybe it could be the speaker wire, the centre speaker itself, or the actual connection on the receiver where the centre speaker connects?

You mentioned you tried switching from one surround mode to another? Like setting up the system without use of a centre speaker?

bmeyer6472

Grip
Real Name
Bob