Ceiling mount with DVI?

Discussion in 'Home Theater Projects' started by BenSC, Jun 25, 2003.

1. BenSC

BenSC Stunt Coordinator

Hi guys,

I'm in the process of converting a room to my home theater, most of it DIY parts centered around a Panasonic PT-L300U. I'd like to ceiling mount the projector to retain a center seat. I've got a computer that I use for playing movies/other video content that I plan to connect via the DVI port. However, I have been reading that digital only (non-analog) DVI signals can not travel farther than 15ft. To get to where I would like to keep the computer it's more like 25ft. If anyone else has run into this problem, how did you get around it?

Thanks.

2. sean_pecor

sean_pecor Stunt Coordinator

Better Cables offers a guaranteed 9 meter dual link DVI digital cable for $210 (fixed price - thanks Mike!):

http://www.bettercables.com/dvicables.html

I have no experience with either the company or extended length cables, but I suspect that the cable operates as indicated on the web site.

Hope this helps!

Sean.

3. MikeWh

MikeWh Second Unit

4. BenSC

BenSC Stunt Coordinator

Yea, thats quite a bit of money. I've actually got a wireless keyboard/mouse setup. What I'm considering is putting the CPU in a different room location than the stereo equipment so that I can use a 15ft cable. My girlfriend works at BestBuy, so I can get cheap cabling there.

5. Jacques C

Jacques C Stunt Coordinator

6. johnathan

johnathan Stunt Coordinator

Im using a lindy 10m or 32ft DVI cable without issue with the Sony HS-10. Like the one that Jacques sugests. Johnthan

7. Chip_Slattery

Chip_Slattery Stunt Coordinator

No personal experience but I've heard good things about these folks as well:

Pacific Cable

Of course, all things being equal, I'd try to support a forum sponsor (BetterCables) if possible.

8. sean_pecor

sean_pecor Stunt Coordinator