CD-RW's can't be Master Drives???

Discussion in 'Computers' started by MarkHastings, Apr 24, 2003.

1. MarkHastings

MarkHastings Executive Producer

If you read my last CD-RW thread, you'll know I had to return my CD-RW drive because it stopped functioning. What I found interesting (during my researching on why the drive wasn't working) is that a CD-RW can not be a Master drive? It has to be a Slave?

Is this information true? If so, Why? [​IMG]

p.s. If Ken is reading this post, I got a replacement CD-RW drive from Dell and everything works fine [​IMG]

2. BlakeN

BlakeN Stunt Coordinator

Any IDE device can be master or slave. If you can get the drive to recognize as slave but not master there could be a few reasons. Im going to start at the beginning so don't take offense. Im a professional computer tech and I even make the "dumb" mistakes.

1) Make sure the jumper is set to master and not slave or cable select.

2) Go into your computers bios to see if the bios recognizes it as master. Also make sure your master setting on that particular IDE controller (most likely secondary IDE) is set to auto.

3) Make sure the CDRW is plugged into the end of the IDE chain not the middle if your using a 3 connector IDE cable. Sounds funny but this can make a difference on some motherboards even if the CDRW is set to master.

Ok now if you can go into the bios and see the cdrom is setup as master and detecting but your os is not detecting it you have a chipset problem or more to the point a chipset driver problem. There are several different ways to fix that type of problem and Ill check in with you later if that's the case but it would take me the better part of 2 hours to go over every possibility.

3. KyleS

KyleS Screenwriter