What's new

CD copy-protection question (1 Viewer)

Anthony Moore

Supporting Actor
I work as a computer tech at the Univ of Florida. One of the professors asked me if there was any way that she could copy-protect an audio CD she's making. I told her that I didn't think there was anything out there to do that, but that I may be wrong and I would research it.

I have no clue. Is there a way? Does anyone know of any software or hardware that could make an audio CD un-copyable?

thanks,

anthony

Jeff Kleist

Senior HTF Member
All the copy protection processes are done at manufacturing plants, and are tightly controlled

Leila Dougan

Screenwriter
This probably belongs best in the computing forum.

But to answer your question, I don't know of any practical way of copy-protecting an audio cd. She could go to great lengths to try to protect it (special encryption, proprietary format, etc) but they are neither cheap nor practical. I don't think there is any such software for the average person to purchase. And really, there is no way a person could make a cd completely copy-protected. Anybody that has a high end sound card, especially with an optical port can copy the audio, regardless of copy-protected schemes implemented. If it can be heard, it can be copied.

Malcolm R

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Malcolm
If you could figure that out, the RIAA would dump loads of cash at your door to buy it. :D

Garrett Lundy

Senior HTF Member
Didn't the industry just spend millions on some new-fangled technology to prevent the illegal copying of MP3's from some newer cd's, only to have this great new technological anti-piracy model undone by anyone with a $.50 RCA-wire?:b

LarryDavenport

Senior HTF Member
There was a news story that some 13 year old kid outwitted CD copying. If I can find the article I'll post a link.

Kevin P

Screenwriter
If you post a link the admins will probably remove it, as they tend to frown on such things 'round these parts...