CD Burner (not smoking)

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Chris-C, Mar 31, 2002.

  1. Chris-C

    Chris-C Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 1998
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Gang;

    I know I did this to myself for buying a cheap external burner($80),but I need your help.

    The unit (Philips CDRW400) is hooked to my laptop via a USB plug.

    The burner plays a prerecorded cd when it's got one in it,BUT when I put a blank recordable CDR or CDRW in the burner,and a cd in my laptop to simply copy-I get a message that "there is no CD Recorder connected)!!!!!!!

    It will play but not record (send but not receieve data).

    Any ideas?

    The USB cable attaches to the burner via firewire (1394).

    The CD recording software is made by Adaptec,and it loaded ok.

    The USB cable came with a floppy driver,and it seemed to load ok too.

    It shouldn't be this complicated,but i'm not the greatest with puter's.

    Thanks

    Chris
     
  2. JasenP

    JasenP Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 1999
    Messages:
    1,280
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kalamazoo, MI
    Real Name:
    Jasen
    Chris, this may be a longshot, but are the burned discs you are using finalized? I had a long fight with my Dad's CD-Rom because it would not recognize discs that weren't finalized.
     
  3. Thom B

    Thom B Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 1999
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    0
    That would make sense if he was trying to play burned discs, but he's not even getting to the burn part.

    Chris,

    What's your operating system?
     
  4. Chris-C

    Chris-C Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 1998
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Operating sys is;

    HP Omnibook XE3

    Windows 98 PIII 850mhz 256ram

    At one point in the problem-the screen asked for the Win 98 disc to be inserted for driver info/ I never got a Win 98 disc with the Laptop when I bought it new (refurbished)-It only came with 2 HP System Recovery disc's???????

    I assume Win 98 is on the recovery discs???

    Thanks again

    CC
     
  5. Thom B

    Thom B Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 1999
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  6. Chris-C

    Chris-C Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 1998
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for all the tips Thom;

    Still SOL.

    Went to Microsoft,and updated system (I think).

    Went to my computer,and don't see the Philips listed,but it does show the 1394 bus controller.

    Got the screen again (during microsoft download) that said "Please insert the disc labeled Windows 98 Second Edition CD ROM,then click ok".

    Only disc received with the Laptop was "System Recovery disc's-so I put that in,and didn't seem to help.

    Hopefully a computer friend will come over soon,and figure this out for me.

    You don't have to bother.

    It's a serious pain in my *SS,but a challenge none the less.

    Thanks again

    Chris
     

Share This Page