Cat: To De-claw or Not to De-claw

Discussion in 'After Hours Lounge (Off Topic)' started by Angelo.M, Apr 30, 2003.

1. Angelo.M

Angelo.M Producer

Adopted a 3 year old cat for my daughter. Never had one as a kid, so I have little experience with them.

Should I have the cat de-clawed? Advantages/disadvantages? Thanks in advance.

2. Patrick Sun

Patrick Sun Studio Mogul

Tough call.

I would never declaw my 2 cats. I try to keep their claws clipped/dulled as much as possible.

For some people, the prospect of having furniture ruined by their clawed cats is unappealing to them, and de-clawing seems to be the answer to that problem for them.

If the cat is to be an outdoor cat, de-clawing will leave the cat more defenseless against other animals.

3. Malcolm R

Malcolm R Executive Producer

Malcolm
    Ohmigod. Can open...worms everywhere. **running for cover until the storm passes**

Never.

Should your fingertips be amputated at the first knuckle?

4. David_N

David_N Stunt Coordinator

Most reputable vets will always advise against it especially outdoor cats. I have two indoor cats with claws now. In fact when we adopted them from the shelter, we signed an agreement with them to never have them declawed. I've placed a scratching post in every room and rubbed catnip on all of them. They love the posts and we have never caught either scratching any furniture.

5. James Edward

James Edward Supporting Actor

No. It is very painful for the cat. It's a little more work, but we have used a nail clipper to keep our
    cat(s) claws a little on the blunt side. 1-2 times a week does the trick.

And: Not all cats scratch furniture. The one we have now is a dirtbag in every other way, but does not scratch the furniture. Scratching posts can go a long way to alleviating the need to scratch anything else.

6. Dean Cooper

Dean Cooper Supporting Actor