What's new

Carver fans read this (1 Viewer)

Stephen Matthew

Stunt Coordinator
I am fairly new to home audio, with my main field being car audio obviously, but this should concern home audio fans as well.. it appears Mr Bob Carver, yes that carver, he has somehow won patents on such things as the right to cut a hole in a speaker box for a subwoofer, the concept of a subwoofer that will work in less than 1 cubic foot, any subwoofer with more than .6 and less than 2.5 inches of linear excursion.. If you are familiar with Richard Clark ( cough cough egotrip cough cough) you may have already read this but i will repost it here.
I quote richard clark here
for you guys that havent heard about it I have written an article for the upcoming Automedia issue that may be of interest-----anyone ever make or use a woofer that has an excursion of more than 0.6 inches peak to peak????----has anyone ever put a high excursion woofer into a box smaller than one cubic feet???----ever cut a hole in a box in order to mount a woofer in the box???----these acts and many others are the claims in one of three patents that have been issued to Bob Carver-----believe it or not----some bozo in the patent office actually granted him a patent for these and numerous other things that most car stereo guys do everyday for a living or for fun---and have been doing for many years-----and he is already suing several companies for infringing!!!!----you and your store could be next or perhaps the suppplier that sells you woofers----and you will have to pay extra to cover the royalties!!!!i am not at my office now but tomorrow i will post the patent numbers and a web site for the patent office so everyone can look up the site and read these ridiculous babblings of government incompetence...........RC
you can read more on this here
http://www.carsound.com/ubb/ultimate...c&f=1&t=013496