Career Advice Needed!

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Tim Kline, Feb 15, 2002.

1. Tim Kline

Tim Kline Stunt Coordinator

OK, I need some advice [​IMG]
    I've been building websites for 8 years now.. doing more graphics than programming type stuff.
    Last year I was laid off by a dot bomb, found a job at another dot bomb soon after, only to be re-laid off last June. since then I've been doing mostly freelance work and making decent money, till the freelance well ran dry.
    So, my friend and his wife fixed me up with a job at her work, part time.. it's not web design, it's police dispatch. It's actually a kinda cool job and at the end of next week I'll be done my training officially and will begin full time work. I'll be certified and all and they say I could easily find a job doing this almost anywhere once I'm certified. Also, with it being at a university's police dept (they're real cops, not security guards), one of the benefits it will have is going to school there for free, which I'd love to do so I can finish my degree. I'll be starting at around 30K a year here full time, which is 12K less than the last job I had [​IMG]
    But... 3 weeks ago, I heard from a very small web design company that wanted me to work there.. I started part time and they absolutely love my work. Today they offered me a full time position, also for 30K [​IMG] and no benefits till 90 days. I'd like to work for em, but I'm worried that it's a small struggling company and I'm gonna end up laid off just like the last small company I was at, since the web building industry pretty much sucks right now. Plus it doesn't seem like there's really much room for advancement at all, yet at Penn I know if I'm there a while I'll move up fast, at least according to what my friends tell me.