What's new

Car speakers to home theater system? (1 Viewer)

SoonerFan

Auditioning
Real Name
Daniel
I'm new to the audio world and I was wondering if it is a good idea to use car speakers as home audio.As of right now, I have 2 pairs of Kicker QS65.2's. They are the highest end mids/tweets from kicker and they have crossovers. I was wondering if it is a good idea to build enclosures (not sure how determine the size needed) and set them up in my living room. A family member is a carpenter and I would have him make the boxes to a specified dimension.I also have a kicker CompVX 12" subwoofer I might use, but I am not sure if it's a good idea.I have 2 amps, 1 for the mids/tweets and 1 for the subwoofer. As far as powering goes, I know I would need to get a dc power supply or something along those lines to power my speakers.So I guess my overall question is "Is it good or bad to make car speakers into a home theater system given that I have good car audio?"

gene c

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Gene
From what I've read over the years a subwoofer is a subwoofer and car subs can be integrated into hometheater. Basic design principals would need to be followed. Enclosure size, etc. But don't ask me about them as I don't have a clue. Seek the advice of a subwoofer expert.

Car stereo speakers don't fair as well in HT since they are designed for a completely different environment. Look at how and where the speakers are installed in a car as opposed to a home speaker. The fact that they are "separates" is much better but the results probably wouldn't be that great. I know since I've tried it in the past on a few occasions. Cheap HT speakers still sounded better. HT separates can sound great in the car though.

My advice would be to sell the Kickers and use the funds to get some proper HT drivers or HT speakers. You can try it if you would like. You would only be out some wood and some time. But be prepared to be disappointed.