What's new

Can't take it anymore, need help!!! (1 Viewer)

Lynn Johnson

Stunt Coordinator
Reading all of the posts here, the only conclusion that I have come to is that I need help. I would like to spend around $2k give or take on a 16:9 display device - either direct view or RPTV. I'm leaning toward the RPTV because I really like the effect of the large screen. My dvd player will be a Denon 1600(should be here any day now) and I've also got an X-box. I like what I've read about the Mits sets, as well as the Toshiba's. I do watch a lot of plain old cable TV too, but the 16:9 set would make me love my DVDs that much more. Thanks in advance!!!! Also, if you could guess-timate would I SHOULD be paying for such an item, that would help too. Again, thanks!

Jason F.

Stunt Coordinator
I'm no expert of this issue, but i'm in the same boat as you and I have been following alot of threads on this topic. What I have come up with is that the Tosh has a MUCH better strect for 4:3 programs than the Mits. And you said you watch alot of regular cable (like me) the Tosh might be the best bet. Whatever T.V. you end up with EVERYBODY recommends calibrating w/the Avia or a disc like that. Or you could just splurge and get it professionally done :D!

Jack Briggs

Senior HTF Member
Lynn, Jason: The 47-inch Panasonic 16:9 RPTV seems tailor-made for both of you. I've seen these things in action. Very impressive once they have been reigned in from their factory default settings. High-def glory awaits both of you.

Toshiba is also magnificent--the firm brings accurate color-decoding to the table. Of all the major mass-market OEMs, Toshiba wins me over time after time.

Lynn Johnson

Stunt Coordinator
Thank you VERY much for the recommendation. I've seen a few in action, and was really leaning towards the Toshiba. I'm about to have a big knee surgery here, so maybe I'll be lucky enough pick one up just in time for me to enjoy it for a while! Thanks again.

AngioDan

Grip