1. Sign-up to become a member, and most of the ads you see will disappear. It only takes 30 seconds to sign up, so join the discussion today!
    Dismiss Notice

Can't receive digital sound, need help!

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Tan_U, Oct 19, 2001.

  1. Tan_U

    Tan_U Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2001
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This is my first HT, I have a H/K AVR110 receiver with the JBL NSP1 speaker package and the RP56 DVD player. It plays pro logic and logic 7 just fine but no dolby digital or dts.
    Everything seems to be hooked up right, the DVD and receiver are hooked up with a AR optical cable, the DVD is set to output digital sound and all the speakers are hooked up properly.
    This may sound stupid but do you need a subwoofer to output digital sound, I'm pretty sure you don't so my other suspicion is that the optical cable is broken somehow, even though I don't remember doing anything that could harm it. Do you need to set the receiver to output digital sound.
    Please help, I can't wait to hear some digitl sound coming from the JBL because they sound so good doing pro logic.
     
  2. SamRoza

    SamRoza Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2000
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Why don't you try looking in the HK setup menu and seeing whether you must designate certain Digital inputs to certain sources. The other suggestion would be to make sure that the source selection on yoru receiver is set digital inpur, not analog.
    On my Pioneer Elite, I must make sure of both of the above points- that I have the Digital input mapped to the proper source, and that the input on the receiver is set to digital or analog inpuits.
    Sam
     
  3. Kevin Coleman

    Kevin Coleman Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 1999
    Messages:
    495
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Tan,
    I am not familiar with your receiver at all , but many receivers you have to select the audio input seperately. For instance , Video 1 or the input labeled DVD may have two selections for audio input... Digital or Analog. Make sure you have digital selected for that source. Whatever input you are using with your DVD player.
    Also it could also very well be your optical cable like you said. If you don't have an extra optical cable to test it try the coaxial digital audio output from your DVD player if it has one. You can use any 75OHM video cable for a coaxial digital audio cable.
    Try these two things first.
    Kevin C. [​IMG]
     
  4. Anthony Stephan

    Anthony Stephan Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2000
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I find that most often this is a problem with the set up of the DVD player. You must choose Dolby Digital bitstream in the original set up menu of the DVD player.
    You must also then chose DD or dts in the discs menu before you begin play.
     
  5. Tan_U

    Tan_U Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2001
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I guess It's the receiver, I've tried switching it to digital but it won't let me, I'll look through the manual some more, thanks for the recommondations.
     
  6. Dale B

    Dale B Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 1999
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have the 110,and if memory serves me right you have to assign the proper cable to the component. My dvd uses a coaxial cable so I had to set the reciever up so it shows the dvd as coaxial. I think you do it from the remote where it says digital. If you have any trouble I will look at how I did mine and let you know. Good luck.
     

Share This Page