Can't get ICQ 2001b to work on my computer w/ XP? Any suggestions?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Michael D. Bunting, Jan 1, 2002.

  1. Michael D. Bunting

    Michael D. Bunting Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 1999
    Messages:
    1,828
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Real Name:
    Michael
    I can use previous versions of ICQ with no problems whatsoever.

    I have a P4 1.8 MHZ Sony Vaio w/ Windows XP pre-installed.

    Using T-1 Internet access

    Have played with the configuration settings for the ICQ connection with no luck at all!

    I even have read most of the on-line help on the ICQ web site.

    Just wanted to see if anyone else was/is having this problem - and if so - how did you/have you - fixed it?

    Thanks

    MIKE
     
  2. Andrew Pratt

    Andrew Pratt Producer

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 1998
    Messages:
    3,806
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm using 2000B no my XP box so I'm not much help I'm affraid. Whats new with the later version?
     
  3. Michael D. Bunting

    Michael D. Bunting Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 1999
    Messages:
    1,828
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Real Name:
    Michael
    ICQ 2001b
    This latest version of ICQ 2001b features new file sharing options, a smaller download size, the ability to select which features you want, improved support for working behind firewalls, the ability to access your contact list from any computer, 2-way messaging with cell phones, and e-mail integration. For a complete list of new features, visit the ICQ New Features page.
    ICQ New Features
    Still troubleshooting this problem - but nothing seems to let it work.
    Here's the error I get when trying to connect:
    CAN'T ESTABLISH CONNECTION. CHECK YOUR INTERNET CONNECTION AND TRY TO RECONNECT ICQ.
     
  4. Stephen Orr

    Stephen Orr Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 1999
    Messages:
    1,099
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    We recently installed ICQ 2001b on my new eMachine with XP, and had no problems at all.

    Have you tried uninstalling and reinstalling it?
     
  5. Jeff R.

    Jeff R. Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 31, 1999
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is this a computer at work? I know some net admins will block the ports used by popular chat clients. The new ICQ clients use port 5190 (I think) which is easy to block and you will get the error that you are receiving. The older ICQ clients used a range of ports which is much harder to block. Also, if you are using a firewall, make sure it is letting the new client through.
     

Share This Page