cant get a dolby digital feed from dvd player

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by David_Stein, Feb 15, 2002.

  1. David_Stein

    David_Stein Second Unit

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Messages:
    422
    Likes Received:
    0
    DVD player definitely has digital out

    reciever definitely has dolby digital recording

    dvd is setup to output 5.1 audio stream

    would the good money be on me not having purchased the proper cable to connect from the reciever to the dvd player?

    if you dont think thats the problem i can provide more specs, but im thinking it sthe cable and just want some other opinions. i thought i got a digital one, but who knows...
     
  2. David_Stein

    David_Stein Second Unit

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Messages:
    422
    Likes Received:
    0
    oh yeah, i am getting sound, its just dolby pro logic, not digital
     
  3. Michael Reuben

    Michael Reuben Studio Mogul

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 1998
    Messages:
    21,763
    Likes Received:
    2
    We need more information:
    1. What model player and receiver?
    2. How is the player connected to the receiver?
    3. Have you checked the player's setup options to confirm that DD output is enabled?
     
  4. Bob McElfresh

    Bob McElfresh Producer

    Joined:
    May 22, 1999
    Messages:
    5,182
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think Michael hit it. The default sound-track on most DVD's is ProLogic.

    Also, the menu system of most DVD's is ProLogic as well. Only after you start playing the actual movie does your receiver detect a DD feed.

    If you are getting any sound, it's not the cable.
     
  5. Michael Reuben

    Michael Reuben Studio Mogul

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 1998
    Messages:
    21,763
    Likes Received:
    2
     
  6. Vince Maskeeper

    Vince Maskeeper Producer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 1999
    Messages:
    6,499
    Likes Received:
    0
    It looks like, from first glance, that he is connected via the ANALOG L/R on the DVD player. If you connect to the little red/white jacks on the player- you will get analog audio, which will always be Pro Logic.

    1) Make sure you have connected the digital connection on the player to the digital input on the receiver. These will be different jacks from the analog l/r.

    2) Make sure the DVD player has DD turned on (some don't by defualt- and you have to go into a setup menu to make DD send bitstream).

    3) Make sure the receiver is set to surround mode-- some receivers will downmix 5.1 to 2.0 unless you specifically have a "surround" feature turned on-- my old Pioneer did that.

    4) Make sure you have a DVD with a 5.1 track on it. Dolby Digital doesn't necessarily mean 5.1: check the disc and make sure you have selected the 5.1 mix from the menu.

    5) If you have connected BOTH an analog and the digital connections from the DVD to the Receiver, make sure the receiver is set to DIGITAL so it isn't looking at the wrong signal.

    -V
     
  7. David_Stein

    David_Stein Second Unit

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Messages:
    422
    Likes Received:
    0
    alright, guys, first specs, just in case:

    onkyo tx-ds575x reciever

    jbl nsp1 5 speaker package

    jbl pb10 sub

    i definitely have the dvd player connected with a a/v cable, and theres only one plug on it, so its all or nothing, im definitely not using the l/r plugs.

    im going to check the dvd player settings right now, to make sure theres not a setting, i never checked that

    and on the dvd itself i thought i was selecting the dolby digital stream, but theres always the chance i was just going back to the main menu or something instead of selecting the dolby digital
     
  8. David_Stein

    David_Stein Second Unit

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Messages:
    422
    Likes Received:
    0
    alright, problem solved, after searching the dvd player's manual we did have to go into a setup and change the way the dvd player was sending the info, from pcm to bitstream, and to turn on dts...
     
  9. Vince Maskeeper

    Vince Maskeeper Producer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 1999
    Messages:
    6,499
    Likes Received:
    0
    [​IMG]
    Glad to hear it worked.
    -V
     
  10. Michael Reuben

    Michael Reuben Studio Mogul

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 1998
    Messages:
    21,763
    Likes Received:
    2
     
  11. Phill O

    Phill O Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2001
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is a VERY good question. I ran into this problem
    awhile back when I was setting up a friends system.
    I still have Prologic[​IMG] So I was not familiar with
    this situation. It took me about two hours to figure
    out what was the problem. And yes it was the DVD player
    setup menu that needed to be changed. Now I know what
    to do when I eventualy get me a real system[​IMG]
     
  12. David_Stein

    David_Stein Second Unit

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Messages:
    422
    Likes Received:
    0
    looking back *and its only been one day* i feel pretty stupid for not having checked the setup before this, but i guess i was just afraid i had bought the wrong cable. oh well.

    getting into the setup wasnt easy either, i had to have the dvd player in stop mode before i could enter the setup, and i kept trying to get into it while i was at the disc menu
     

Share This Page