cannot get to google.com

Discussion in 'Computers' started by Ted Lee, Oct 2, 2003.

  1. Ted Lee

    Ted Lee Lead Actor

    Joined:
    May 8, 2001
    Messages:
    8,390
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hey all -

    this is kind of weird. i cannot (for the life of me) access google.com - it just started happening yesterday.

    i can get to every other website in the world...just not google. i even called tech-support. they said all my dns settings were correct, etc.

    i even tried to enter the ip directly into the address bar...no luck.

    not really a big deal...but kinda weird. edit: okay, this is becoming a HUGE deal...

    any ideas?

    ted
     
  2. Brett_H

    Brett_H Second Unit

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2001
    Messages:
    341
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  3. Jack Shappa

    Jack Shappa Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2003
    Messages:
    411
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm having the same problem! And no, it's not like what is in the other thread, it comes back with the standard "cannot find page" error. I've checked the hosts file and run ad killing software and all was well. Is google having a problem?! Other pages seem to be fine.

    - Cryo
     
  4. Ted Lee

    Ted Lee Lead Actor

    Joined:
    May 8, 2001
    Messages:
    8,390
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hey brett -

    not really. it's not giving me any sort of error...just the usual "page cannot be displayed" type error.

    i went out to my hosts file and noticed it was huge. i have adaware and it looks like it put in a whole bunch of stuff. i deleted everything from the hosts file except the "127.0.0.1 localhost" entry.

    i rebooted but still no luck. on a side note, it doesn't appear i can do internet searches anymore! even if i go to yahoo.com, then try to search, i get an the same page cannot be displayed error.

    it's weird. it's like i can hit websites, but any searching type functionality isn't working.

    HELP!!!
     
  5. Ted Lee

    Ted Lee Lead Actor

    Joined:
    May 8, 2001
    Messages:
    8,390
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    jack - can you search from other websites?
     
  6. Jack Shappa

    Jack Shappa Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2003
    Messages:
    411
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Holy crap, I can't go to AltaVista, my IE "seach" function won't bring up their website. No Hotbot...

    I can GO to Yahoo.com, but the search results bring up the "can't find page" error. Looks like we have the same problem Ted. I have checked my settings, called my ComCast tech support guy even, run Spybot destroyer, checked my hosts file... Everything looks fine. This is STRANGE

    - JS
     
  7. Ted Lee

    Ted Lee Lead Actor

    Joined:
    May 8, 2001
    Messages:
    8,390
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yep...i can't get searches to work in any of my other websites either. grrrrrr [​IMG]

    i just reran adaware...no improvement.

    i'm startin' to get irked.
     
  8. Kyle McKnight

    Kyle McKnight Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2001
    Messages:
    2,504
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The second phase of the sobig worm...disable peoples ability to find anything on the web [​IMG] ...and so it begins
     
  9. Ted Lee

    Ted Lee Lead Actor

    Joined:
    May 8, 2001
    Messages:
    8,390
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    okay, so far:
    1. deleted all entries from my hosts file (except the 127.0.0.1)
    2. loaded and ran spybot. it found a bunch of stuff - i removed all of it
    3. ran adaware - it came up clean[/list=1] no luck...

      btw, i have a several files in my C:WINDOWSsystem32driversetc folder: hosts, Hostsagb, services, protocol, networks, & lmhosts. the lmhosts file is a "SAM File" - what the heck is a sam file? do i need all these? i tried completely deleting my hosts file, but when i tried to create a new one, it kept saving it as a .txt file???
     
  10. John_Berger

    John_Berger Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2001
    Messages:
    2,489
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Guys, there are a few options.

    (A) Get the hell away from Internet Explorer, will you, please? Opera, Netscape, Mozilla, Firebird ... just get away from IE, for crying out loud. Several people on HTF have publically admitted in this forum that they have been converted to Mozilla or Firebird after years of using IE. It's your turn now.

    (B) The newest version of Ad-Aware - build 181 - will search the hosts file and correct this problem. If you haven't downloaded Ad-Aware for for a few weeks, download the newest binaries again.
     
  11. Ted Lee

    Ted Lee Lead Actor

    Joined:
    May 8, 2001
    Messages:
    8,390
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ahh...there he is! [​IMG] i sent you a pm...help!
     
  12. Jack Shappa

    Jack Shappa Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2003
    Messages:
    411
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ted, I just pinged google.com, hotbot.com, altavista.com, and they ALL give the same IP 207.44.194.56. Go to that IP on your browser and you get a grey page with "under construction". Somehow all these sites are being redirected, but my host file is fine.

    John : You may be right about getting the hell away from IE, but adaware cleaning up the host file wouldn't do much as the host file is already fine. Also I'd like to know what the heck is going on before I just abandon ship. It may not help anyway, it could be a universal network thing and switching browsers may do nothing.

    Anybody know is there some place in the registry or something that can redirect to a new host file or something?

    - JS
     
  13. Jack Shappa

    Jack Shappa Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2003
    Messages:
    411
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Whoops wrong IP. Its 207.44.194.56 (the other IP was an unrelated website, and I edited my previous post!)

    - JS
     
  14. Ted Lee

    Ted Lee Lead Actor

    Joined:
    May 8, 2001
    Messages:
    8,390
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yep jack...i'm getting the exact same thing. ip address and all. whatever is happening to you is the same as me.
     
  15. Ted Lee

    Ted Lee Lead Actor

    Joined:
    May 8, 2001
    Messages:
    8,390
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  16. Jack Shappa

    Jack Shappa Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2003
    Messages:
    411
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just ran the latest Ad-Aware as John suggested. Everything checks out fine. Ran a full system virus scan, everything checks out. Ran all the latest IE security updates... Weird thing is my local area network is acting flaky too, computers on the same workgroup not seeing each other or able to share files... Blah!

    - JS
     
  17. Ted Lee

    Ted Lee Lead Actor

    Joined:
    May 8, 2001
    Messages:
    8,390
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    john - ran the latest build of adaware. no luck....
     
  18. John_Berger

    John_Berger Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2001
    Messages:
    2,489
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Okay. So, your host file is okay.

    Let's make sure that DNS is working properly. Go to a DOS prompt and type "nslookup google.com" ... at least I hope that Win XP has nslookup. Windows 2000 does. My Windows 2000 results came up as

    C:>nslookup www.google.com
    Server: h-64-105-159-250.PHLAPAFG.covad.net
    Address: 64.105.159.250

    Non-authoritative answer:
    Name: www.google.akadns.net
    Address: 216.239.41.99
    Aliases: www.google.com
     
  19. Ted Lee

    Ted Lee Lead Actor

    Joined:
    May 8, 2001
    Messages:
    8,390
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    thx john. okay....here's what i got

    server: ns1.surewest.net
    address: 208.45.228.3

    non-authoritative answer:
    name: google.com
    addresses: 216.239.53.99 216.239.37.99

    ----

    i'm also trying this link to see if it helps

    http://www.tweakxp.com/forum/forum_p...?TID=4152&PN=1
     
  20. ChrisMatson

    ChrisMatson Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2000
    Messages:
    2,181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

Share This Page