1. Sign-up to become a member, and most of the ads you see will disappear. It only takes 30 seconds to sign up, so join the discussion today!
    Dismiss Notice

Cannot get sound from surround speakers

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by brian.c, Jan 5, 2004.

1. brian.c

brian.c Auditioning

Newbie here :b

I'm trying to set up a Denon avr1604 Receiver for the first time. My problem is I can only get sound in Direct and Stereo mode, and only from the two front speakers (from an analog signal)

I cannot seem to get any signal to the Surround/Sub speakers. Also, I cannot get sounds from the Test Tones either. Am I missing something in the setup/configurations? Even when I use a digital signal the receiver picks it the digital signal, but still there is no sound.

Any ideas?

2. John S

John S Producer

The test tones should certainly play....

All channel stereo too? Only the fronts???

3. brian.c

brian.c Auditioning

Yep, no sound at all when attempting the test tones and anything with digital input. (not even the fronts) [​IMG]

4. Jason_A

Jason_A Stunt Coordinator

Make sure the other speakers are installed and selected in the configuration menu. That might solve the big problem. Also check your wiring for pulled out wires.

5. John S

John S Producer

The OSD shows them connected?

You see it go from one channel/speaker to the next or does it skip the surrounds completely during the setup screens?

6. brian.c

brian.c Auditioning

Can the OSD show it being connected? When I do the automatic test tone I do see it going from speaker to speaker. I've double-checked all the wiring. Should test tones come out of the working front speakers at least?

7. John S

John S Producer

The OSD is way important on these receivers....

yes, the setup screens carry detailed video on the test tone, and show what speaker it is on graphically, but only with speakers actually connected and configured to the unit.