Canadians working and living in the US?

Discussion in 'After Hours Lounge (Off Topic)' started by McPaul, Apr 23, 2004.

1. McPaul

McPaul Screenwriter

Paul M
    Has anyone of you done this? Or are there any Americans that know any Canucks that came down on some sort of visa and successfully started a life in the states?

I've been looking into it. The process does seem quite difficult. You can get something called a TN visa which lets professionals (I'm a Change Management Consultant) take residence down there. I know someone who has done this already. She moved down to the Baltimore-DC area and is working for a tech company in one of their clean rooms. She reapplies for the visa each year, and hasn't had any problems thus far. She will, but hasn't yet, applied for citizenship.

I'm at the point in my life where I need a major change. I'm getting old, so it has to be made soon. I recently did a salary report for my current job on monster.com. I answered their short survey with answers that would put me at the lower end of the range, and when their graph came up, even the 25th percentile was DOUBLE (slightly more, actually) than what I'm making right now, and of course in USD. I'd personally be happy with what I'm making right now (ok, maybe a bit more), only in USD and have no problems with living down there.

When my friend went down, she just started applying for jobs on monster and similar sites, they flew her down for a face to face interview after talking on the phone, and when they decided they were going to spend the money to hire her, they helped her out with all the forms, and a bit on relocation expenses.

Of course I realize this would be like starting all over again. No credit. I'd have to give up a lot of things, including family and friends. It's obviously a big step, but I have thought about it somewhat.

But I'd still consider doing it. I'd do it just to be able to get DirectTV and subscribe to the musicmatch download service!! [​IMG]